Unique studying method? focus on understanding

hi guys I am a french student and i pass my CFA 1 last year. The way i prepared was to read the secret sauce from Schweser a few times. Then i did the practices exams of Schweser. Also i watched the videos on the ethic material. The first time i read the secret sauce took a lot of time. I could read a paragraph or an equation, and think about it for 5- 10 minutes. When i started doing the practice exams, It was more to learn than to practice. I would read the questions, then read the answers and it was very efficient to increase my understanding of the concepts. After a while i was actually solving the questions myself. A few of my friends who took the exams read and summarize the 5 Schweser study notes before practicing. They used to say that there was so much information to memorize. I didn’t and i still don’t understand this. I never tried to memorize anything when i studied, I just tried to understand. I was able to pass only because this is a multiple choice questions test. In this format, i don’t feel the need to memorize the information. The questions and possible answers just remind me of what i read, and then i choose what make sense. If you asked me before the exam: “what do you know about the ethical/FRA/economic… material?” i could tell you almost nothing. But i did quite well on the exam. Did anyone had a similar studying experience? Or do i have a strange mind? Maybe i have the mind of an autistic person :slight_smile: ps: When started studying for the CFA 2, there was too much that i could not understand in the secret sauce book. So i started watching the videos and this is a very cool way to learn. The work books with all the slides are nice to review the essential info.

I always encourage my candidates to understand the material, not merely to memorize it.