Fannie & Freddie

I am no expert on this, how low can this story go. It seems everyday I see them down 10+%

As a sell side agnecy salesman said this morning in my office “what UBS said was bulls$^@, stop freaking people out!” Rescap and GMAC continue to hang on :stuck_out_tongue:

Despite what you see in the press, Fannie and Freddie will come out ok. Perhaps it’s a political move planning their inevitable bailout? They barely even touch subprime. Based on what I read, they would only take the subprime loans that didn’t include the teaser rates and those individuals would need to qualify for the maximum rate the loan could climb to for them to be accepted by Fannie and Freddie. As of yet I’m not seeing solid evidence they will go bankrupt.

They won’t go bankrupt but their equity could go to 0 in a restructuring.

^ Yep.

I agree with farley

KJH, what basis do you have for your opinion that they are OK? Do you know how little capital supports the enormous balance sheets of Freddie and Fannie? Did you know that Freddie has negative fair-value book value (and Fannie likely will as well once it reports 2Q)? Do you know how frequently these companies have come to the market to refinance? And did you know that Fannie agreed to a record yield on the three-month bills it sold yesterday? But let’s not worry about all that…

* I should rephrase that. While I do not believe the US Government will allow them to go under (hence be ok), they may have to issue new equity that would dilute the current holdings. Overall I think of this more as a political move. They create both the problem and solution to the problem thus saving the day.