Ever turn down a job soley due to pay?

The job is almost perfect: high level, relevant duties, an upgrade from your previous job, great company, great location, BUT the compensation is about 10k-15k less than what you expected. Would you turn it down? Have you turned something like this down in the past?

Yes, 120K less than I expected. I said f*kk no.

Is it more than you make currently? Also, what is the difference the 10-15k makes to you?is it the marginal 10-15k that will make your life a whole lot better? or is the marginal impact not that much? if it is more than you make currently and the pay being lower by 10k-15k wont make much difference to your lifestyle…then I’d definitely take a longer term view and consider taking the job…

The job I have currently pays equal to my internship pay… So i guess no. As a just out of college grad you gotta take what you can get.

When I graduated from college, I went to work for the company that I interned with the summer before. My base salary was actually higher as an intern, as I was paid for overtime. In our field, the bonus is really where the money is.

Slash Wrote: ------------------------------------------------------- > The job is almost perfect: high level, relevant > duties, an upgrade from your previous job, great > company, great location, BUT the compensation is > about 10k-15k less than what you expected. Would > you turn it down? Have you turned something like > this down in the past? Not that big of a $ gap. Sounds like you could get them to up the offer if they like you for it.

Depends. There is a big deifference between 30k vs 45k expected and 120k vs 135k expected.