Need some info/help on Equity Research

I graduated college in September with a bachelors in Applied Mathematics and Economics, passed the CFA level 1 in December, level 2 candidate for June 2008…I am trying to get a job as an associate in Equity Research, what is the best way to go about it? I have good qualifications including an SAT score of 1450, then why can I not even get a call back from ANY place? Don’t get me wrong I’m not frustrated, I’m the fighter type but I would like to know how I can change the situation. If anyone can offer advice, I’d be glad.

I think more than anything hiring, especially in research, is pretty bleak right now. I think most banks are trying to scale back recruiting efforts in lieu of the credit crunch/recession. Additionally, I think there are a number of qualified research folk floating around out there due to recent layoffs. A few weeks ago the entire energy research team at BofA was let go (including two II-ranked analysts, I think). My analyst got a call from a headhunter who is trying to place some of the displaced research associates into our energy group. Frankly, if we did have an opening, we’d much rather take an experienced associate that was let go than a fresh college grad. That’s not to say you should stop trying. I just think it will take longer than average to find something.